« Back to All News

2018 Vanderploeg North American Breeder's Award

November 12, 2018

2018 Vanderploeg North American Breeder's Award

The Vanderploeg North American Breeders Award is to be awarded to the best 3 or 4 year old mare judged in each year’s North American keuring cycle. Eligibility: Mares must have been born in North American and be presented for their initial adult inspection in the current year to be automatically entered for this special award. Mares must be 3 or 4 years old at the time of their initial inspection. The breeder identified on the horse’s registration certificate must be a current FHANA member in good standing and reside in North America. Eligible mares must have been sired by a stallion approved for breeding by the KFPS at the time of conception and must be out of mares registered in the main Studbook.

2018 Champion-Zen Dame van Dream Gait, Provisional Crown (Date 477 x Lute 304) Breeder: Gwendolyn Schmidt of Dream Gait Friesians, Current owner: Lori Brock of Majestic Friesians

2018 Reserve Champion-Vivian, Crown (Bene 476 x Karst 362) Breeder/Owner Pier & Darlene Vanderhoek

Honorable mention goes to- Ynskje fan Friesian Run, Provisional Crown (Bene 476 x Tjimme 275) owned by Sjouke Plantinga 

The champion will receive a cash award of $500 which is split 50/50 between owner and breeder.  The Breeder will receive a special individual award.

The reserve champion will receive a cash award of $250.  


Criteria: Upon receipt of the official results by the FHANA office of all inspections each year, the Championship title will be awarded to the highest placing mare out of all eligible mares judged each year. For example, if there is only one mare named as Provisional Crown, that mare will be declared the Champion. In the event that more than one mare is named Crown/Provisional Crown, FHANA will make the decision by comparing the mares’ linear scores for the 25 characteristics evaluated. The winner will be the mare with the most scores falling in the desirable (shaded) range. In the event of a tie, the KFPS judges /inspectors who judged in North America that same year will confer and determine which mare was the best. If there are no mares named as Crown/Provisional Crown in any year, the winner will be chosen from the eligible mares awarded a First Premium, and so on.